An image of graphs and coins.

About the Auditor-General

The Auditor-General for New South Wales helps the Parliament of New South Wales hold government accountable for its use of public resources. 

The Auditor-General is responsible for audits of NSW government entities, universities, and local councils, and also provides certain assurance services for Commonwealth grants and payments to the State under Commonwealth legislation. 

The Auditor-General is accountable to the Parliament of New South Wales and regularly reports to Parliament on audits conducted.

The Auditor-General is appointed by the Governor of New South Wales for a term of eight years, and is not eligible for reappointment.

William Lithgow was the first Auditor-General of New South Wales, appointed Colonial Auditor-General in 1824. Visit Our history for more on the history of the Auditor-General.

The current Auditor-General, Bola Oyetunji, commenced in April 2024. Visit the Our people page for more information.