Appendix four – Sources of information and council classifications

Sources of information

Ø

This report comments on the results of audits completed on the 2017–18 financial statements of 125 councils and ten county councils. The audit of Bayside Council's 2017–18 financial statements is ongoing as the council received a lodgement extension from the Office of Local Government.

In addition to the audited financial statements, the comments and analysis in this report has been drawn from:

- data collected from councils
- audit findings reported to councils
- data from external sources, including population, kilometres of roads, and council area data from the Australian Bureau of Statistics and the Office of Local Government.

Council classifications

We adopted the following methodology when classifying councils in our report.

OLG classification	Audit Office grouping
Metropolitan	Metropolitan
Regional town/city	Regional
Metropolitan fringe	Metropolitan
Rural	Rural
Large rural	Rural

Source: OLG classifications and Audit Office.

Below is a list of councils and county councils by classification.

Metropolitan councils			
Bayside Council	Blacktown City Council	Blue Mountains City Council	
Burwood Council	Camden Council	Campbelltown City Council	
City of Canada Bay Council	Canterbury Bankstown Council	Central Coast Council	
Cumberland Council	Fairfield City Council	Georges River Council	
Hawkesbury City Council	Hills Shire Council, The	Hornsby, The Council of the Shire of	
Hunters Hill, The Council of the Municipality of	Inner West Council	Ku-ring-gai Council	
Lane Cove Municipal Council	Liverpool City Council	Mosman Municipal Council	
North Sydney Council	Northern Beaches Council	Parramatta Council, City of	
Penrith City Council	Randwick City Council	Ryde City Council	
Strathfield Municipal Council	Sutherland Shire Council	Sydney, Council of the City of	
Waverley Council	Willoughby City Council	Wollondilly Shire Council	
Woollahra Municipal Council			

Regional councils

Albury City Council Bathurst Regional Council Byron Shire Council Coffs Harbour City Council Goulburn Mulwaree Council Kiama, the Council of the Municipality of Lithgow Council, City of Mid-Western Regional Council Port Macquarie-Hastings Council Richmond Valley Council Singleton Council

Tweed Shire Council Wollongong City Counci

Wollongong City Council Balranald Shire Council Bland Shire Council Bourke Shire Council

Carrathool Shire Council Coolamon Shire Council Cowra Shire Council Federation Council Glen Innes Severn Council

Gwydir Shire Council Inverell Shire Council Lachlan Shire Council Lockhart Shire Council Murrumbidgee Council Narrabri Shire Council Oberon Council Temora Shire Council Upper Lachlan Shire Council Walgett Shire Council Armidale Regional Council Bega Valley Shire Council Cessnock City Council Dubbo Regional Council Griffith City Council Lake Macquarie City Council

Maitland City Council Newcastle City Council Port Stephens Council

Shellharbour City Council Snowy Monaro Regional Council Wagga Wagga City Council Ballina Shire Council Broken Hill City Council Clarence Valley Council Eurobodalla Shire Council Kempsey Shire Council Lismore City Council

Mid-Coast Council Orange City Council Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council Shoalhaven City Council Tamworth Regional Council Wingecarribee Shire Council

Rural councils

Bellingen Shire Council

Blayney Shire Council

Brewarrina Shire Council

Coonamble Shire Council

Dungog Shire Council

Forbes Shire Council

Hay Shire Council

Junee Shire Council

Leeton Shire Council

Greater Hume Shire Council

Moree Plains Shire Council

Muswellbrook Shire Council

Narrandera Shire Council

Tenterfield Shire Council

Parkes Shire Council

Uralla Shire Council

Warren Shire Council

Wentworth Shire Council

Central Darling Shire Council

Berrigan Shire Council Bogan Shire Council Cabonne Council Cobar Shire Council Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council Edward River Council Gilgandra Shire Council **Gunnedah Shire Council** Hilltops Council Kyogle Council Liverpool Plains Shire Council Murray River Council Nambucca Shire Council Narromine Shire Council Snowy Valleys Council Upper Hunter Shire Council Walcha Council Warrumbungle Shire Council Yass Valley Council

County councils		
Castlereagh-Macquarie County Council	Central Murray County Council	Central Tablelands County Council
Goldenfields Water County Council	Hawkesbury River County Council	New England Weeds Authority
Riverina Water County Council	Rous County Council	Upper Hunter County Council
Upper Macquarie County Council		